One Man's Alaska

49 year old male available for adoption in Alaska

June 27, 2012

Do you live in Homer or Seward, Alaska? If so, would you like to adopt me for 3-4 months? :)

How about Juneau?



Here's the deal: I lived in Alaska for a couple of years, including Talkeetna, Wasilla, and Palmer, but I currently live in Colorado, where it's insanely hot, over 95 degrees most days. (I don't mean to make light of the fires here. I just don't like temps over 80, let alone over 90.) I'm currently writing a book, my third book -- and the first to be printed by a publisher -- so I just need a little quiet space where I can write, decent internet access (I have to keep websites like running), and a place to sleep. Nearby coffee shops where I can also do my writing are a plus.

Considering what I'm doing for work, I'd rather live in a cool area, preferably near water, and where I can enjoy long walks ... I also won't have a car, which is also why I'm thinking of these small towns, where I can walk to everything. The adoption plan, if you accept it, is to fly up some time in July, then fly back here in late September or October.

In return, well, I can pay some amount ... negotiable ... you know, depending on the arrangement.

As for me, I'm house broken, generally self sufficient, and 49 years old (not 50 until next year, thank you). I'm not very mature for my age, but that's common for men. I've lived on my own for a few years now, and keep the place pretty clean. I'm a decent grocery shopper, though I don't do coupons, and I can also run simple errands. Technically I can walk dogs, but I don't do the "picking up after them" part. I like cats, too, but I'm allergic to them. (I've thought about getting a hairless cat, but I have a tendency to drive to the beach or other locations at the drop of a hat, so that didn't seem like a good idea.)

A word of warning: I'm not a handyman. Most times I've used a hammer, I end up bleeding or in the ER. I even fell through a roof one time. Painting seems to be the extent of my usefulness in manly activities around the home. (I'm more of a computer guy, and I can help you put together a nice entertainment center.)

I exercise pretty hard every other day, mostly weight lifting and yoga, so an exercise facility nearby would be wonderful. I'll buy my own groceries, and just need some room in the refrigerator and freezer. In theory I can cook, but most days I get by on cereal, protein shakes, and frozen dinners. Oh, and I have to have my coffee in the morning.

I don't smoke, and don't drink, unless of course you want a margarita, in which case I can make a mean one, either frozen or on the rocks. (I worked as a bartender in college, so I can probably make any sort of drink.)

If you like watching tv shows or movies at night, I have a Netflix account, and I'm currently watching the "Supernatural" tv series. Other series I like are Life, The Dead Zone, Law & Order: Criminal Intent, Doc Martin, Eureka, and Eli Stone. Popcorn and ice cream are all good, too.

As you can see, I'm pretty boring, and I've come to like it this way. I'm also in the process of starting a nonprofit named the Zen Foundation, but I pretty much keep that to myself. (If you want me to ask you, "What's the sound of one hand clapping?", I'll be glad to do that, but you're on your own when it comes to the answer.)

Again, mostly all I need is a quiet place to write eight to ten hours a day. And just think, when you go to Barnes & Noble one day and see my book(s) on the shelf, you can say, "Hey, that guy lived with me while he wrote this book." :) Okay, that's not a great benefit, but it's all I've got.

I'm about 64% serious when writing this (even though it sounds much more like a dating ad than I intended). I'm mostly just putting it out into the universe to see what happens, as I'd rather be there (Alaska) than here (really hot).

So what do you say? Haines? Juneau? Homer? Anyone? Want to adopt me? Anyone need a house sitter for a few months?


P.S. - If for some reason you want to know any more about me or see a few photos, you can read a little more on my About Me page.

back to the One Man's Alaska front page